Monday, March 21, 2011

TN polls: EC transfers TN DGP Letika Saran

Posted on Mar 20, 2011 at 11:49am IST

New Delhi: Ahead of the Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, the Election Commission on Saturday replaced Director General of Police Letika Saran with top vigilance officer Bhola Nath and transfered collectors of four districts and several IPS officers.

The Commission said Bhola Nath will be the new DGP of Tamil Nadu for conduct of the Assembly polls. Nath currently heads the Directorate of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption.

The EC order comes close on the heels of principal opposition AIADMK demanding the transfer of Saran for conduct of polls.

In its order, the Commission also shifted the collectors of Madurai, Vellore, Theni and Erode replacing them with Sangayayam, Pallani Kumar, Karthik and C Kamraj respectively.

Six IPS officers including Chennai Sub-urban Police Commissioner and Madurai have also been shifted.

The EC said M N Manjunath will be the Inspector General of Police, South and Karan Singha new CoP for Chennai suburban and P Kannappan will be the Madurai police chief, while Sanjay Mathur has been made DIG Dindigul.
Nirmal Kumar Joshi has been appointed Superintendent of Police, Thiruvannamalai and Asra Garg as SP Madurai.

The EC has also sent a letter to the Tamil Nadu in this regard.

No comments:

Post a Comment