Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Peaceful polling in Nandigram, Singur

UPDATED  3/5/2011 10:38:31 AM
Kolkata: The polling for fourth face of state has started with brisk note on Tuesday morning. An electorate of 1.26 crore will poll to decide the fate of 366 candidates, including several ministers, in 15,711 polling stations.Nandigram and Singur are voting today to change the political scene of state for next five year. Bihar's Chief Electoral Officer Sudhir Kumar Rakesh will be the Special Observer for the fourth phase of the polls.

In fourth phase of elections, 63 constituencies spread over Howrah, Hooghly, East Midnapur and parts of Burdwan district will also vote in fourth phase. There are 16 seats each in Howrah and East Midnapur districts, 18 in Hooghly district and 13 in Burdwan. CPI(M) heavyweight and Industries Minister Nirupam Sen is pitted against retired professor of Burdwan University Rabiranjan Chattopadhyay of Trinamool Congress from Burdwan South constituency.

Courtesy:News 24desk

No comments:

Post a Comment