Friday, March 18, 2011

Two ministers dropped in CPI's Kerala list

News 24 Desk

Thiruvanathapuram: Eight sitting MLAs including two ministers and Deputy Speaker do not figure in the first list of candidates released by CPI here for the April 13 Kerala assembly polls.

Revenue Minister K P Rajendran, Forest Minister Binoy Viswom and Deputy Speaker Jose Babymissed out following the party's decision not to field MLAs who have served two terms,party sources said.

Three women candidates also found a place in the list of candidates finalised by the Party State Council for the 23 out of 27 seats alloted to CPI as part of the Left-led Left Democratic Front (LDF).

The three women candidates are National Federation of India Women Executive Committee member P Gouri (Manjeri), Geetha Gopi (Nattika) and sitting MLA E S Bijimol (Peerumade).

Food Minister C Divakaran and Agriculture Minister Mullakara Ratnakaran would contest from Karunagapally and Chdayamangalam respectively in Kollam district.

Other sitting MLAs seeking reelection are P Raju (Punalur), P Thilothaman (Cherthala), K Ajith (Vaikom), Babu Paul (Muvattupuzha), V S Sunil Kumar (Kaipamangalam) and Rajaji Mathew Thomas (Ollur).

The party would announce the list of candidates tomorrow after finalising the names for the four constituencies of like Adoor, Ernad, Thirangadi and Irikkur, party sources said.

UPDATED  17/3/2011 11:45:54 AM

No comments:

Post a Comment