Wednesday, March 16, 2011

DMK, TNCC exchange list

15 March 2011

The DMK and the Congress today formally exchanged the list of 63 constituencies to be fought by the national party in the forthcoming Assembly elections.
The list, approved by the Tamilnadu Congress Committee and the DMK leadership, was exchanged at the Anna Arivalayam by TNCC president K V Thangkabalu and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi.

It is said that the list would be released formally after it was approved by the Congress high command in New Delhi. 'The list has been immediately sent to the leadership. It wil be released to the media at the earliest,' sources said.

It is also said that the candidates to be fielded on behalf of the Congress have also been finalised. The list, according to sources, includes the names of Dr E S S Raman (Tiruttani), Victory Mohan (Poonamallee), former Congress leader D Sudarsanam's son Amarnath (Avadi), Mano (Royapuram), Adhi Johnson (Thiru Vi Ka Nagar), Sai Lakshmi (Anna Nagar), Dr Chellakumar (T Nagar), Karate Thiyagarajan (Mylapore), Gayathri Devi (Alandur) and Yasodha (Sriperumbudur).

After much delay and dillydallying, the stalemate over identifying seats between the DMK and Congress ended on Sunday with the negotiating teams of both parties coming to an amicable settlement at Anna Arivalayam.

Tamilnadu Congress Committee president K V Thangkabalu said his party would release its list of 63 constituencies soon. The talks, according to reports, had resumed on Sunday night after consultations earlier in the day between the ruling party and the PMK to resolve differences over choice of seats to be ceded to the Congress.

The DMK team led by its treasurer and Deputy Chief Minister M K Stalin held discussions for more than an hour at the DMK headquarters with the five-member committee of the Congress, which included Union Ministers P Chidambaram and G K Vasan.
Sources in both parties revealed that there were differences between DMK and Congress over two seats. 'However, everything has been sorted out now and an amicable settlement has been arrived at,' they added.

Meanwhile, the list of DMK candidates will be out on Wednesday, party chief Karunanidhi said on Monday.

No comments:

Post a Comment